Young Drivers Licensing Laws

Please visit the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles for complete information regarding teen drivers and teen driving restrictions in Colorado.

The following are some frequently asked questions about driving restrictions for drivers under the age of 18: 
  1. Cell Phones
  2. Passenger Restrictions
  3. Time of Day Limitations
Drivers under 18 shall not use a wireless telephone while operating a motor vehicle.
  • Use means talking / listening / text messaging or any similar form of data entry or transmission
  • Operating a motor vehicle does not include use while lawfully parked or at rest in a shoulder lane 
  •  Exceptions for use to contact a public safety entity or during an emergency

To be issued a Minor Driver's License (ages 16 - 20) you must meet the following requirements:

  • Must hold instruction permit for 12 months (if under 18)
  • Must be at least 16-years-old
  • Present a completed and signed Drive Time Log (if under 18)
  • License will expire 20 days after your 21st birthday
  • A 6-hour Behind the Wheel (BTW) certificate is required, for any minor who is under the age of 16 years 6 months at the time they apply for their license. Exception: 12 hours of behind the wheel training may be administered by a parent, guardian or alternate permit supervisor if there is no approved school offering at least 20 hours of driver education per week located within 30 miles of the permit holders residence.
  • Pass a drive test with either a third-party tester or at a Driver's License office. *Drive Tests at Driver's License offices are by appointment only*
  • Please visit the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles for complete information regarding teen drivers and teen driving restrictions in Colorado.