Municipal Elections

District 4 Vacancy

The April 7, 2020 election created a vacancy in District 4 due to Paul Rennemeyer being elected as Mayor.  The Windsor Town Board wishes to fill the vacancy through an appointment process as provided in the Town’s Home Rule Charter.  The individual that is appointed to the vacancy will remain in that seat until the next regular municipal election to be held in April of 2022.  Learn more about the process and access the application on our webpage

Town of Windsor April 7, 2020 Election Results

The Town of Windsor held its Municipal Election on April 7, 2020 for Districts 1, 3, 5 and the Mayor seat. It was certified official on April 17 in accordance with the Uniformed and Overseas Absentee Voting Act (UOCAVA) which allows those votes up to eight (8) days after the election to be received and counted. 

It has been determined that Paul Rennemeyer, having received the highest number of votes tallied at 3,266, has been elected to the position of Mayor. Additional election results were confirmed that mayoral candidate David Sislowski earned 2,619 votes and candidate Hunter Rivera earned 697 votes. 

It was also determined during the 2020 municipal election that:

  • Scott Charpentier, having received 794 votes and running unopposed, filled the position of Town Board Member for District 1. 
  • Ken Bennett, having received 754 votes and running unopposed, filled the position of Town Board Member for District 3. 
  • Victor Tallon, having received 633 votes and running unopposed, filled the position of Town Board Member for District 5.

General Town Board Election Information

Regular municipal elections for the Town of Windsor are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in April of even-numbered years.  All municipal elections are non-partisan. 

Candidates must meet the following requirements to be eligible to be elected to the Office of Mayor or Board Member:
  • A citizen of the United States of America;
  • Candidates must be qualified (registered) voters;
  • 18 years of age or older;
  • A resident of the Town for twelve (12) consecutive months immediately preceding the election. At all times during their terms, Town Board Members shall reside in the District from which elected; 
  • No person who has been convicted of a felony shall be eligible; 
  • No person who is an employee of the Town of Windsor may serve as Mayor or Town Board Member;
  • No person may be a candidate for both Mayor and Board Member at the same election. 
Candidates for municipal office are nominated. The nomination petition period runs for 20 days in January of the election year, and at least 10 signatures of registered electors residing in Windsor corporate limits or in the candidates’ district are required. The Voting District Map (PDF) provides detailed information regarding the district boundaries. Registered electors can only sign petitions and cast votes for candidates in that live within their district.

Voting Districts 
In November 2007, following a citizen initiated petition, an amendment to the Home Rule Charter was passed, calling for the formation of Election Districts within the Town of Windsor.  A Districting Commission established six election districts in accordance with the provisions of the Charter.  Provisions include that the variance in the number of registered voters between districts shall not exceed 15%. 

On November 25, 2019, the Town Board approved Ordinance 2019-1597 which revised the election boundaries within the Town of Windsor.  The Districts were revised to remain in compliance with the Home Rule Charter 

Revised Voting Districts Map (PDF)

Voter Information

In accordance with state municipal election statutes, only citizens who have resided within the town limits for at least 22 days before the election are eligible to vote.

To register to vote or to manage your voter registration please visit the Colorado Secretary of State website.  

Ballots are mailed to registered electors in mid-March of the election year and can be returned by mail or placed in the County ballot drop box. In order to be counted, ballots must be received by the Town Clerk by 7pm on Election Day.